Buhari Signs Executive Order 11 On Public Buildings Maintenance

Buhari Signs Executive Order 11 On Public Buildings Maintenance

President Muhammadu Buhari has signed Executive Order 11 on the maintenance of national public buildings into law.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), the president signed the document shortly before the start of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) virtual meeting on Wednesday at the Council Chambers, State House, Abuja.

Speaking at the event, the president directed all government Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) to establish maintenance departments in accordance with the new Executive Order.

According to him, the order gives legal support to the country’s national maintenance policy, which was previously approved by the FEC.

He stated that the government had already begun to use the policy to give some of its buildings, such as the Federal Secretariat, Abuja, as well as 24 others scattered across the country a facelift.

“Since the FEC approved the policy, the Federal Government has consciously begun the implementation of maintenance of strategic facilities such as the Federal Secretariat Abuja and federal secretariats in 24 states of the federation, with at least 40 people now employed daily in each of those 24 secretariats.”

“The Office of the Federation’s Head of Civil Service has approved the establishment of a federal Public Assets Maintenance Department as a critical step in supporting the implementation of this national policy, which is unprecedented in our history and approach to maintenance.”

“It is my pleasure to sign this Executive Order that ties maintenance directly to our economy in order to ensure the policy’s full implementation and impact.”

“By this Order, I expect MDAs to establish and ensure the operation of their maintenance departments, as well as to make necessary procurements for their maintenance in accordance with the provisions of the Public Procurement Act,” he said.

According to NAN, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, and Head of the Federation’s Civil Service, Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan attended the council meeting.

Others are Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Minister of Information and Culture; Zainab Ahmed, Minister of Finance, Budget, and National Planning; Babatunde Fashola, Minister of Works and Housing; Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of Science and Technology; Pauline Talen, Minister of Women Affairs; and Suleiman Adamu, Minister of Water Resources.

The meeting was also attended by the Ministers of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, Communications and Digital Economy, Isa Pantami, State Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, and Science and Technology, Mohammed Abdullahi.

Source: Africanhousingnews

Compare listings